Connect to computers via Ethernet or wireless LAN.

Network Settings

Add camera network profiles. This item can also be used to choose from existing network profiles.

Create Profile

Create new network profiles (Wireless LAN, Ethernet Connections).

  • If more than one profile already exists, you can press J to choose a profile and connect to the selected network.

  • To edit an existing profile, highlight it and press 2.

Option

Description

[General]

  • [Profile name]: Rename the profile.

  • [Password protection]: Select [On] to require that a password be entered before the profile can be changed. To change the password, highlight [On] and press 2.

[Wireless]

Display connection settings for connection to wireless networks.

  • Infrastructure mode: Adjust settings for connection to a network via a router.

    • [SSID]: Enter the network SSID.

    • [Channel]: Selected automatically.

    • [Authentication/encryption]: Select the type of encryption used on the wireless network.

    • [Password]: Enter the network password.

  • Access-point mode: Adjust settings for direct wireless connection to the camera.

    • [SSID]: Choose the camera SSID.

    • [Channel]: Choose [Auto] or [Manual].

    • [Authentication/encryption]: Select the type of encryption used on the wireless network.

    • [Password]: If an option other than [OPEN] is selected for [Authentication/encryption], this item can be used to change the camera password.

[TCP/IP]

Adjust TCP/IP settings for infrastructure connections. An IP address is required.

  • If [ON] is selected for [Obtain automatically], the IP address and sub-net mask for infrastructure mode connections will be acquired via a DHCP server or automatic IP addressing.

  • Select [OFF] to enter the IP address ([Address]) and sub-net mask ([Mask]) manually.

Copy to/from Card

Share network profiles.

  • If two memory cards are inserted, the profiles will be copied to and from the card in Slot 1.

Option

Description

[Copy profile from card]

Copy profiles from the root directory of the memory card to the camera profile list.

[Copy profile to card]

Copy profiles from the camera to the memory card. Highlight a profile and press J to copy it to the memory card.

  • Password-protected profiles cannot be copied.

End Current Connection

End the connection to the current network.

Connection Type

Choose an operating mode for use when the camera is connected to a network.

Option

Description

[Picture transfer]

Upload photos to a computer as they are taken or upload existing pictures from the camera memory card.

[Camera control]

Use Camera Control Pro 2 software (available separately) to control the camera and take pictures remotely from a computer.

Options

Adjust upload settings.

Auto Upload

Select [ON] to mark new photos for upload as they are taken.

  • Upload begins only after the photo has been recorded to the memory card. Be sure a memory card is inserted in the camera.

  • Videos will not be uploaded automatically when recording is complete. They must instead be uploaded from the playback display (Selecting Pictures for Upload).

Delete After Upload

Select [ON] to delete photographs from the camera memory card automatically once upload is complete.

  • Files marked for transfer before you selected [ON] are not deleted.

  • Deletion may be suspended during some camera operations.

Upload RAW + JPEG As

When uploading RAW + JPEG pictures, choose whether to upload both the NEF (RAW) and JPEG files or only the JPEG copy.

  • When [RAW Slot 1 - JPEG Slot 2] is selected for [Role played by card in Slot 2] in the photo shooting menu, the option chosen for [Upload RAW + JPEG as] applies only to photos uploaded automatically by selecting [ON] for [Auto upload].

JPEG + JPEG Slot Selection

Choose a source slot for auto upload when taking pictures with [JPEG Slot 1 - JPEG Slot 2] selected for [Role played by card in Slot 2] in the photo shooting menu.

Upload Folder

Mark all photos in a selected folder for upload. Marking will be applied to all photos, regardless of whether they have been uploaded previously.

Videos will not be marked for upload. They must instead be uploaded from the playback display.

Deselect All?

Remove upload marking from all pictures. Upload of pictures with an “uploading” icon will immediately be terminated.